Facebook? Twitter? Why?

 

Over the last several months, I have slowly entered the world of online community. First with Facebook, then blogging, and now Twitter

The big question/objection I’ve received from others when it comes up is either:

  1. “Don’t you have anything better to do?”
  2. “I don’t have time for that…”

My reasons are simple.

In an increasingly technology driven world, I believe it is irresponsible not to take advantage of opportunities to engage and interact with others.

You find the time for the things of value.  

And, for me, the commitment is not so much to the technology.  I am not married to any particular way of doing things.  My commitment is to remaining relevant within the culture I am serving.  

2 Responses

  1. As a parent of 4 boys, 14 to 5, I agree, it is imperative that we understand the benefits and short comings of the technology that our children will be exposed to.

    On a lighter note, to answer some critics about what business application twitter has I created the following post:

    http://roihunters.wordpress.com/2008/05/30/business-twitter-ideas/

  2. Ok, John, I just read your ‘about’ and now I need to come up with a “Church Twitter” example. What do you think?

Leave a Reply

