QRT and Worship Disasters

One of the most important qualities anyone can have at THE CHURCH of Jacksonville or THE CHURCH Group Worldwide is called QRT. It comes from Pastor Mike’s Ten Commandments for Excellence.

Quick Recovery Time.

It’s not how you function when everything is well, but rather how you function when everything that goes wrong, that distinguishes people of excellence. The ability to recover from anything and do it quickly is invaluable. Particularly when you spend a good portion of time front and center under the lights…

Every worship leader has their own war stories of things going wrong. It’s part of the job.

When I think back to my own worship “disasters”, I immediately remember our 03/04 New Year’s Eve service. We were still meeting in a small office space and it was cramped. The first service was to start at 6 PM with the second starting around 8:30 or so. We were all packed into this small room and the first song was rockin’. You could tell that people were excited and feeling it. Now it’s important to know that we were using tracks for worship due to our space limitations. Regardless, the crowd was really jammin’ to the music.

Then the second song started.

It’s also important to note that we had been experimenting with in-ear monitors (again due to the lack of space…).

As the second song started, I sensed that the crowd was no longer “feeling” the music. “Sensed” isn’t even the right word. They looked blankly at me as if I had lost my mind barely clapping in time to the music. That was my clue…

I stealthily tried to pull one of the buds from my ears and quickly found the source of the confusion.

The music that I was leading… shouting to… clapping energetically to… was only in my in-ear monitors. There was no track in the house. At all.

So I had spent almost a minute making a complete buffoon of myself in front of everyone.

We all laughed and continued praising God. And I never really lived it down.

In thinking about this, I decided to search for similar experiences from other worship leaders. All I know is I am thankful I didn’t end up on YouTube…

Here’s some funny “disasters” to laugh with and not at… Like I said we’ve all been there…

Classic example of the dreaded “lyric freeze”. Somehow it doesn’t matter how many times you’ve sung something, the lyrics can escape just that easy…

Thanks to Rich Kirkpatrick of Sunridge Community Church for sharing this…

Sometimes the carefully crafted sets don’t even behave… 

This one made me cringe! Thanks to Los Whittaker for sharing… 

And for good measure…

All in all, I love what Los says…

What do you do when it all goes wrong? Play the next chord!
 

 

One Response

  1. […] of feedback.  Unless, of course, you add having a worship leader trip over something… (see here for examples…)  Sometimes the best way to lead in worship is keeping from creating […]

Leave a Reply

