Whaddayaknow?

Sometimes it seems that no matter how much you may try to prepare, research, and study there are just some things you won’t know until you do it.

Riding a bike.

Changing a diaper.

Parenting, in general.

You just don’t know what you don’t know. And worse, you don’t know that you don’t know what you don’t know.

It’s in that frame of mind that I am asking for thoughts.

My bride and I will be launching a church in early 2009. We both have a fairly extensive experience in ministry both as volunteers and on staff. I’ve led worship teams and youth ministries, outreaches and Sunday School classes. We’ve been the youngest folks in a small country church and are a part of a culturally diverse mega-church.

But this next step is uncharted for us.

So, my question is, “What don’t I know?”

What are the things that are different from a Lead Pastor perspective than a long time member/volunteer/staff member? What did you wish you knew? What would you tell yourself if you were starting over?

Please leave your comments, warnings, advice!

3 Responses

  1. Great question. I’ve been a youth pastor, associate pastor, and church planter and there many things that are the same but there are a few things that are different. For me it’s been a love hate relationship. Most days I love it but then there are days when I just want to quit.

    I would say for me that the joys are more intense and the frustrations hit you harder. There are times when you can feel alone because there is no one (other than another lead pastor) who completely understands what is going on in your heart and mind. And if you were to share those things with a non-lead pastor they would think you were crazy.

    The biggest piece of advice I would give would be to surround yourself with great people. People who are good at the stuff that you’re not good at or that you hate doing.

    This may just be me but I also struggle with the balance between being someone’s friend and being someone’s pastor.

  2. I’m on staff at a church in East Tennessee — won’t give you my whole bio — but words of wisdom include:

    Go with God. You plus Him equals a majority no matter how many tell you you’re wrong.

    Listen to other church leaders, glean what God confirms in your spirit from them, then dive in. It’s a roller coaster ride that is incredibly worth it.

  3. Bob, thanks for your honesty and openness! It is refreshing and sobering at the same time.

    Faye, thank you for your encouragement! I think you are right on and it is good to be reminded!

Leave a Reply

