Someone on the Internet must HATE ME!!

It started so simply.

I had a sudden need for something ridiculous.  And, knowing no better place for the ridiculous, I went to YouTube.

Thankfully, the kids and I got our absurdity fix with this:

Now, I won’t go into what it says about our culture that this 1 1/2 minute video has been viewed more than 1.3 million times.  I’ve added my views to it and I am not so high-minded as to not enjoy it.

My issue is this video:

Yep, those are my kids.  My lovely bride put this together for me for Father’s Day last year.  And the best part?  She used one of our family’s favorite songs – “Little Wonders” by Rob Thomas from “Meet the Robinson’s”.

It was sweet and amazing and heartfelt and it made me cry.

Then came the upload to YouTube.  As you can see, it was not anything close to a web phenomenon.  Just 56 views.  And those came mostly from friends and family.

But you wouldn’t know that was the song used in the video.  Because somewhere in the mix of family feelings, love, joy, and celebration we overlooked the fact that we committed a heinous web crime.  COPYRIGHT infringement!

How dare we take a song about enjoying life’s little moments together and use it to celebrate Father’s Day?  I’m sure “they” would hardly stand for “their” song to be misused this way.

But Carlos786 has 1.3 million views.

I wonder if somewhere out there in the great interwebs doesn’t just have it out for me.  Or if the people responsible for the song are just incredibly short sighted.

3 Responses

  1. I heard Rob Thomas talking about that song and he said that Disney owns the publishing for any song that they use in their movies, so the people probably pulling the plug would be Disney, not Rob Thomas. He’s seen stuff people have done using his songs before and he never seemed to mind. He always said he was very flattered. Cute kids, btw!

    • Thanks for coming by and leaving a comment!

      It seems to me that the biggest issue a lot of the old media companies are going to have is embracing the idea that my using your content is a plus and not a negative. As long as I am not passing it off as my own or using it for my own monetary gain, having a fan use your content for the express purpose of sharing it with others is a win.

      It should be the kind of thing they embrace and promote rather than squash.

      P.S. Thanks for the compliment about the kids! They must take after their mother!

  2. Блог отличный. Вам бы награду за него или просто почетный орден. =)

Leave a Reply

